FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you licensed by the NJ Department of education or the NJMVC?
Yes, actually every instructor is a New Jersey State certified classroom teacher, with at least a bachelor’s degree or higher. Most of the instructors are also High School coaches in various sports. We as a school are indeed licensed by the State of New Jersey Motor vehicle Commission. (LIC. # 000208)
Why do I have to submit my son/daughter’s ORIGINAL birth cert or passport?
The DMV will not accept copies. The DMV requires the ORIGINAL birth certificate or passport in order for the learners permit to be processed. We ask for that information in advance to expedite obtaining the permit. We all know how unpredictable the lines at the DMV are, so I like to get all the paperwork done before the lessons. The information can be mailed or even dropped off at the house address, not the office address, so it is nice and secure.
Do I get my son/daughter’s birth cert or passport back?
YES! Your son or daughter will receive there documentation back after the first lesson.
Why does New Jersey require the GDL program?
Studies show that a young driver's risk of being involved in a car crash is highest within his/her first 12-24 months of driving. An average of 6,000 teens die in car crashes nationally each year. An additional 300,000 teens sustain injuries in crashes; many of those injuries are serious and often life-altering. In fact, car crashes are the leading cause of brain injury in teens. By delaying full driving privileges so that teens can gain driving experience under low-risk conditions, comprehensive GDL programs can reduce these deaths and injuries by approximately 40%. The ultimate goal of the GDL program is to protect the lives of young drivers-and the lives of their passengers and others on the road.
What happens if my teen driver commits a traffic offense and receives a ticket while he/she has a GDL license?
GDL holders cannot "plea down" to "no point" offenses. If a GDL holder accumulates three or more penalty points, they have to complete a driver improvement program. If they fail to complete this program, or if they accumulate additional points, it will result in suspension and postponement of their eligibility to obtain a probationary (if in the permit phase) or basic license (if in the probationary phase). In addition, violations may incur legal fees and/or higher insurance rates. This can cost thousands of dollars. GDL holders must obey all traffic rules and regulations. It can save money... and their lives.
What restrictions are placed on my teen driver with the New Jersey Graduated Driver License Program (GDL)?
Drivers holding a GDL license have the following restrictions placed upon them:
  • May not drive between 11:01 and 5:00am.
  • May not have more than one passenger (besides his or her dependents or is accompanied by a parent or guardian)
  • May not use a cell phone (including hands free) or any other hand-held electronic device (Note: GPS systems - portable or built in - and iPods connected to a vehicle's sound system are permitted, but a teen should not make any adjustments to these devices while driving)
  • May not plea-bargain any point carrying offense
What is the New Jersey Graduated Driver License Program?
If a person is under 21 years old or has never had a driver license, New Jersey requires that they complete a period of supervised driving before getting a basic driver license. The New Jersey Graduated Driver License (GDL) program introduces driving privileges in phases. There are three options to complete the program:
  • The Early Bird Road, for 16 year old drivers,
  • The Young Adult Road, for drivers 17-21,
  • The Adult Road, for drivers 21 and older
Where is your office located?
Our office is located on 570 South Ave. in Cranford. It is inside the Strength–n-Fitness Club. If you choose to drop off any paper work there please hand it to one of the front desk attendants and they will put it in my safe. I offer a physical house address to send the information to for security reasons. I am rarely at my office and I would prefer that this sensitive information is sent to a house. If you wish to meet me at my office, an arrangement can be made.
How can I arrange for behind-the-wheel driver's instruction?
Telephone the Road Rules Driving School directly requesting an appointment once you have filled out this packet. (908-272-1991). We will make every effort to accommodate your schedule, including picking you up at your residence, school, or place of work, seven days a week. At the end of the lessons, we will schedule your test for the earliest appointment of the earliest time it can be scheduled. If any changes need to be made, please log on to the DMV website through our website under links.
Can I take the required 6 hours of driving lessons in my mom's car?
No! All of the first six hours of driving lessons must be provided by a licensed driving instructor in a dual controlled training vehicle.
How do I qualify for an auto insurance discount?
Most insurance companies provide a significant reduction in insurance premium rates for those who have completed an approved driver education program. Road Rules Driving School offers a State Certified and Approved drivers education course that consists of two phases of instruction: thirty (30) hours of classroom and six (6) hours behind-the-wheel laboratory phase, at the student's convenience.
What other services does Road Rules Driving School provide?
We provide classroom and on the road driving instruction to anyone desiring driving assistance. We specialize in teaching both teens and adults to drive. Our patient professional instructors will take you comfortably through our step-by-step process and help you become a safe, confident, and licensed driver. We also provide the road test prep and car rental service! There is a very high correlation between students taking the refresher and renting the car for the road test and passing it!
What's the best source of study material to prepare for the Learner's Permit Test?
The New Jersey Driver's Manual is available at your nearest Department of Motor Vehicles' Test Center, on-line, or Road Rules Driving School will mail one with purchase of our 6 hour program. Study your free manual. We suggest reading it several times. You can also go to our website www.RoadRulesDrivingSchool.com and study our sample test questions.
Once I begin my six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, how soon afterward will I be able to drive with my parents?
You have a pre-validated permit during your six hours of instruction. This means that you are only allowed to drive in a Road Rules Driving School car under the supervision of your driving instructor. Once you complete your six hours of instruction, Road Rules Driving School will validate your permit at the DMV. You will then receive your validated permit. Only then may you drive with your parents.
Once my permit is validated with whom may I drive other than my parents?
You may drive with a NJ driver with a valid license, who has been licensed for four years or more, and is 21 years or older.
What should I do if I lose my permit?
In the event you lose your permit, we must apply for a duplicate. We will have to present your official proof of birth and your written score card at the DMV. The fee for a duplicate permit is $25.
Who insures me while I'm using Road Rules Driving School for my six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction?
We do! During your six hours with us, you are fully insured by Road Rules Driving School under our policy, which is the maximum allowed. Once you complete the six hours, we will give you an insurance discount certificate. Contact your provider to see what discounts apply to you.
What type of car is acceptable for my road test?
The brake must be accessible for the tester to reach in case of an emergency. If you have a console in between the two front seats, there must be an emergency brake. If there is no console, the examiner must feel he/she is able to reach the brake or you will be rejected. It is their discretion. You cannot use a rental car. Remember to bring proper insurance and registration of the vehicle you are using. Automatic or stick shift is allowed. If your vehicle does not have proper requirements for the road test, we can provide you with one.
How many lessons do I need?
Although the State of New Jersey requires all 16 year olds to take 6 hours of behind the wheel training, every student is different. We do not "push" or sell extra lessons unnecessarily. However, we feel strongly that since this is a once in a lifetime investment , one should not start driving on their own until they feel comfortable with their control of a vehicle, as well as with the rules of the road.
If I cannot make it to my road test on the date they gave me, what should I do?
Unfortunately, the DMV does not at this time have a special number to call in order to schedule road test appointments. However, you may either visit your local MVC office, call them toll free at 1888-486-3339, or you can go to the NJ DMV web site at http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/. Otherwise, if you would like to cancel your appointment, you just don't show up. When you are ready to reschedule, you must go down to the DMV, call, or go online and schedule your test. If you are one of our students, we can usually take your permit to the DMV to reschedule it for you, or schedule it for you online.
Can I use one of your vehicles for my road test?
Absolutely. In fact, we encourage this mode of transportation to the road test. There are a few reasons for this. First of all, if you have taken lessons with us, you will already be comfortable driving our vehicles. Additionally, going with your instructor will instill confidence, and will allow him/her to give you some helpful last minute tips. All of our vehicles are up to date on insurance, registration and inspection. We have the legally required red stickers on all of our vehicles. If you do not have the stickers, your test will be denied. Additionally, all of our vehicles are equipped with a dual control braking system, thus making the brakes accessible to the examiner (one of the criteria of taking your road test).
What do I need for my road test?
A vehicle which has up to date registration, insurance and inspection, has an emergency brake which is accessible to the instructor, has the legally required red stickers (kyleighs law) and is overall considered to be a safe and clean vehicle is generally acceptable for use for a road test. You must bring your permit, along with the identification you used to get your permit (such as your birth certificate, passport etc.) to the road test. The driver who accompanies you to the road test must have their license with them.
Are lessons given on a one on one basis, or are they given to a few people at a time?
Lessons are given strictly on a one-on-one basis. Our driving school never pairs people up for lessons. We have found that while some students may have an easy time mastering certain techniques and maneuvers, such as k-turns and parallel parking, others may find the same techniques difficult. While one student may be ready to go on to another lesson, the other student might need more practice before moving on. Additionally, it can be very distracting having multiple students in the car. In our opinion, although many other driving schools do pair up students in the car, a driving school which has multiple students in a car for a lesson is neither professional nor safe.
Why do many people take 6 hours of Behind the Wheel training even if they are older than 16?
Many, if not most insurance companies give a significant reduction in auto insurance rates if the insured has completed 6 hours of behind the wheel training at a state certified driving school. We provide a certificate for all students who have completed their 6 hours of behind the wheel training with us.
Does the DMV have late night hours?
Most agencies have late night hours once a week. For a list of the agencies and their hours, please call 1 (888) 486-3339 or visit http://www.state.nj.us/mvc. However, please be aware that the road test sites never have late night hours.
I have heard that the DMV agencies are always so busy. Is there a time when it is not crowded?
Of course there is no guarantee, however, we have found that the end and very beginning of each month is particularly crowded. This is because people typically come in at that time to renew licenses and other documents, which expire at the end of the month. The best hours of the day are usually 8:00 a.m. to 11:45 a.m.
What is the “green card” and how do I fill it out?
What does the Rahway Road test look like?

My name is Yvette, and I live in Elizabeth. I have a daughter whom is deaf, and recently obtained her drivers permit. I have never seen her so happy. She was excited because she has something regular kids her age have, a permit. That happiness was about to change. It was time to find a driving instructor for her. I searched high and low and called every driving school in the Union, Essex, Middlesex, and Bergen County area. All of the schools refused to teach her how to drive because she was deaf. I was so upset and hurt, because they were not even willing to give her a chance. I didn't have the heart to tell my daughter so I kept lying telling her, I was waiting for call backs. Well as luck would have it one day at DMV someone I know there introduced me to a driving instructor. We started talking and I explained my situation. Without hesitation he was willing to teach my daughter how to drive. Later that week I arranged to have him come and meet my daughter. As luck would have it she took to him well that he took her driving. When she came home and he left she was like a kid in a candy store. I have never seen her fingers move so fast in sign language to tell me how it went. I could tell I found the right person and the right driving school. My daughter bugs me every day to call or email him so she can drive. She enjoys her time with him. She says he is very calm and relaxed and he makes driving fun. She said he doesn't treat like a Deaf person; he treats her like a person. That right there was the highlight that made me cry....The driving school is ROAD RULES DRIVING SCHOOLand the instructors name is MIKE..

If you or anyone you know with a (any) disability, before you drive yourself crazy searching for a driving school or instructor call him. You will not regret it. I promise you. Between him and his staff you cannot find any better. They will make you feel like family. So remember if you want to learn call ROAD RULES ask for MIKE. If you want to waste your time and money than call someone else.

Mike was extremely professional and courteous during my daughter's driving lesson. For someone who was nervous driving, he made her feel very relaxed and confident. I find now that she is a very confident driver and knows the rules of the road extremely well. I am so thankful that my daughter had such a great instructor! Thanks to Mike I am a little bit more relaxed with the idea of her driving!

I am happy to recommend Mike and Road Rules Driving School. Not only did Mike quickly form a trusting relationship with my daughter and tailor his instruction exactly to her needs, but he went above and beyond driving instruction. He patiently answered all my questions via phone and email, and he even went to the DMV for us to reschedule my daughters road test appointment! He made us both feel confident, welcoming my participation in the process, and his prices are competitive. I will definitely be calling Mike again when my younger daughters are ready to learn to drive.