SERVICES

ROAD RULES DRIVING SCHOOL SERVICES

X

16 Year Old Learner's Permit Program – "THE 6 HOURS" or "EARLY BIRD"

This is the required course for all 16 yr. olds in New Jersey.

New Jersey law states students 16 years of age to receive a New Jersey learner's permit, they are required to visit a Motor Vehicle Commission Agency with a licensed driving instructor. The teen must provide four-point identification, which can include a birth certificate, adoption papers, naturalization papers, or a United States passport. Proof must be provided showing the teen is enrolled in a driver's training course. The teen seeking a learner's permit in New Jersey must also provide a letter of consent from a parent or guardian (service agreement). Parental consent is required. Students must pass a state approved written exam given in high school or at the Motor Vehicle Commission's office. Students must also pass a state approved eye exam before they can begin their mandatory 6 hours of behind the wheel driving lessons. Lessons are given at your convenience after school, evenings, and weekends. There is a time available for everyone, even the most busy athlete or academic. Lessons are private, with just you and the instructor in the car. The six hours of driving instruction is provided, typically in three 2-hour sessions.

*The card you received in HS for passing the written test is NOT a learner's permit! **DMV will NOT sell you or your parents the Learner's Permit. You must be represented by a professional licensed driving school (such as ROAD RULES).


Driving lessons include:

  • Door to door service: We can pick you up from home, school, or work.
  • Explain the dashboard, controls and driver safety features inside the car
  • Teach students the rules of the road on our New Jersey streets
  • Explain street signs, signals and ground markings
  • Practice starting, stopping, and accelerating smoothly
  • Intersections (right of way, pedestrians)
  • Explain and practice the fundamentals of turning
  • Reverse driving safety
  • Parallel parking (between traffic safety cones)
  • K-turns
  • Highway driving (entering, lane changing, exiting)


Student Requirements:

  • Completed permit application (green card)
  • Completed service agreement
  • Original passport, green card or birth certificate
  • High school blue card (proof student has passed the written exam), If the student has failed the written exam in school, the test must be repeated at an NJ Motor Vehicle Commission's office
  • Contacts or eyeglasses if needed to pass eye exam
  • $10 cash or check made payable to the NJ MVC (separate fee)

After obtaining the permit, the student will receive 6 hours of behind the wheel training (required by law). The driver training program is done in one of our school vehicles, all of which are equipped with a dual brake system. The 6 hours are full hours, and we do not include the trip to the DMV agency as part of the hours. Upon completion of the program, we offer a certificate of completion for the 6 hour behind the wheel program. This certificate is provided is free of charge. The certificate is actually available to anyone who has completed the 6 hours, regardless of age. Often, our certification will help lower your auto insurance rates by a significant amount.

After finishing the 16 year old program, the learners permit is brought back to the DMV to validate. At that time, an appointment for your road test will be made by the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) at the time they validate your permit. This appointment will be hand-written on the bottom or back portion of your permit. We will do that for you so you do not have to wait in any lines. When you are ready to take your road test, we offer a road test service which provides you with transportation to the road test in the vehicle in which you had been given lessons. In addition, you may want to take advantage of our road test preparation lesson which is typically given within a few days of the actual road test.

If you are between 16 and 16 ½ years old, your road test will be scheduled on or near your 17th birthday. If you are older than 16 ½ at the time you finish your lessons, check your permit for the scheduled date. Most road tests are scheduled at the Rahway NJMVC (1140 Woodbridge Rd & East Hazelwood Avenue Rahway, NJ 07065).

Once the teen has received a learner's permit, he needs six months of supervised driving and must display the appropriate decal on the license plate. A teen with a New Jersey learner's permit is not allowed to drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. At all times, a teen with a learner's permit needs to have a licensed New Jersey driver who is at least 21 years old and has at least three years driving experience in the front seat to supervise. A parent or guardian may be a passenger in the car, but not siblings. Seat belts are a must, and the driver driving on a learner's permit is not allowed use a cell phone or any interactive video or communication's device, even if hands-free.

Teenage drivers in New Jersey must work through a graduated driver licensing program to become fully licensed. As part of this program, driver's license applicants between 16 and 17 years old must enroll in an approved driver education course and practice driving with an instructor before being issued a provisional license.

X

ADULT DRIVING LESSONS (age 17 +)

Before a teenager/adult can receive a probationary license from New Jersey, the teen first must get a learner's permit. The teen needs to study the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Driver's Manual, which can be downloaded online. The MVC Driver's Manual contains all the teen driver needs to know to pass the knowledge test.

Passing the New Jersey knowledge test means the teenager has learned basic traffic and driving laws. After studying the MVC Driver's Manual, the teenager can take this test online. Results are almost immediate. The test contains 50 driving knowledge questions a driver needs to know; it can be taken in a variety of languages. There are also options for those with a hearing impairment. The teen taking the test must score at least 80 percent to pass. After obtaining the permit, the student will receive 6 hours of behind the wheel training (required by law). The driver training program is done in one of our school vehicles, all of which are equipped with a dual brake system. The 6 hours are full hours, and we do not include the trip to the DMV agency as part of the hours. Upon completion of the program, we offer a certificate of completion for the 6 hour behind the wheel program. This certificate is provided is free of charge. The certificate is actually available to anyone who has completed the 6 hours, regardless of age. Often, our certification will help lower your auto insurance rates by a significant amount.

***PLEASE HAVE A VALID NJ LEARNERS PERMIT TO START THESE LESSONS

Adult licensed driving lessons

If you are a currently license driver, (valid New Jersey or International driver's license), you could still benefit from our NJ driving school. Let one of our New Jersey state certified driving instructors help you enhance your defensive driving skills. Whether you need help parallel parking, highway driving or help parking in a parking lot at the mall, we can custom tailor driving lessons to your exact needs.

Student Requirements:

  • Valid New Jersey driver's license
  • Valid International driver's license

X

ROAD TEST SERVICES

When a student goes for a road test, whether it’s with Road Rules Driving School or on their own, he/she will need to show their original permit and original, birth certificate or valid U.S. passport. The MVC WILL NOT give a road test without these important documents. Then, to apply for a license, additional I.D. is required. Please see your driver’s manual for more information on the 6-Point I.D. Program

Your road test date is fast approaching and you're still having trouble parallel parking. Let Road Rules Driving School provide you the confidence needed to pass your road test. We'll help you practice the required exercises the MVC examiner is going to ask you to complete to pass the road test. If you want to take advantage of our road test service, It is usually best to call (2) weeks before your scheduled appointment. This is an intensive 1 hour review lesson of skills you will be required to demonstrate on the DMV road test. This lesson is especially helpful if your lessons have been completed over six months ago. This lesson is usually scheduled several days before your road test. You may also combine a special one hour review lesson on the same day as your test with the use of our car for the test.

There are three main reasons to consider using one of our vehicles for the NJMVC road test:

  1. Family vehicle is unacceptable for use on the state road test. If the vehicle has a console running between the driver and passenger seats in front it must have the emergency brake handle located on this console. In other words, the MVC instructor must have a way to brake the vehicle in case of emergency during the road test. (Emergency brake locations to the left of the driver seat or on the floor on the driver’s side are not acceptable for use during the road test.)
  2. Family vehicle is large. The parallel parking space used during the road test is approximately 25 feet long. The larger the family vehicle is, the more problematic it may be for your teen to successfully parallel park such a vehicle. Our “CUBES” fit very comfortably into the parking space at MVC
  3. Student simply feels more confident and comfortable taking the road test in the same vehicle that they learned how to drive in. Confidence goes a long way in ensuring success during the road test.

X

HOURLY LESSONS / REVIEW LESSONS

If you are a currently license driver, (valid New Jersey or International driver's license), you could still benefit from our NJ driving school. Let one of our New Jersey state certified driving instructors help you enhance your defensive driving skills. Whether you need help parallel parking, highway driving or help parking in a parking lot at the mall, we can custom tailor driving lessons to your exact needs.

This is an intensive 1 or 2 hour review lesson of skills you will be required to demonstrate on the DMV road test. This lesson is especially helpful if your lessons have been completed over six months ago. This lesson is usually scheduled several days before your road test. You may also combine a special one hour review lesson on the same day as your test with the use of our car for the test.

  • Valid New Jersey driver's license
  • Valid International driver's license

X

ON-LINE DEFENSIVE DRIVING COURSE

Lower your auto insurance rates. Remove 2 points from your NJ license. Road Rules Driving School is proud to offer a New Jersey 6 hour point/insurance reduction course. The course is given online through our website. One common misconception is that our defensive driving course is only intended to take points off of one's driving record. In fact, many people with clean records take this course, since it will often reduce one’s insurance rates significantly.

If you are taking this course to remove points from your license, you may take the course once every five (5) years. It will remove two points from your record. If you are attending this course to reduce the amount you pay for your car insurance each year, you may take it once every three (3) years. The amount of the reduction on your insurance plan is dependent on your insurance company and your particular plan. Please call your insurance agent or company to find out if you qualify for a reduction.

We are aware than many people have unpredictable and busy schedules, so for your added convenience, we have partnered up with an online NJ DMV approved defensive driving course. This course will remove 2 points from your driving record as well as give an insurance reduction, all from the convenience of your home or office. You can take the course when you want, according to the pace you want. For more information, or to sign up, click the link below.

X

INTERNATIONAL DRIVERS

If you are not a U.S. citizen and have recently moved to New Jersey, you must have temporary visa status and fit into one of the following categories to apply for a New Jersey driver license:

  • Treaty traders
  • Students and their families
  • Temporary workers, accompanying spouses and children
  • Foreign information representatives and their families
  • Exchange visitors and their families
  • Intra-company transfers, accompanying spouses and minor children
  • Persons with temporary protection from deportation
  • Canadians with temporary residence
  • Religious ministers and spouses
  • Parents of U.S. citizens
  • International athletes or entertainment groups
  • Persons in a reciprocal exchange program
  • Students and their families with an (F) visa must show INS Form I-20, student identification cards or certification on school letterhead indicating status and their I-94 passport
  • You may use your country's driver license as proof of driving experience if you have an International Driver Permit issued by your country or if your country is a member of the United Nations Convention on Road Traffic and your license is translated into English by a consulate or an MVC approved translator
  • If you are under 18 years old, you are subject to GDL Program requirements
  • If you are in H-1B or L-1 status and do not have current USCIS documentation, you must bring a certification like this H-1B or L-1 240 Day Extension Certificate with your 6 Point ID documents to an MVC agency

Note: Prior to issuing any document, the Motor Vehicle Commission will use the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) system to verify the immigration status of all non-citizens who apply for or renew a driver’s license or non-driver ID at an agency. If legal immigration status cannot be confirmed, the document will not be issued.

How to obtain your basic New Jersey driver license

You must also provide proof by the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service, authorizing your presence in the country. In order to obtain the permit, you will need to bring your foreign license and present the documents required to pass the 6 Point ID requirements.

You must also provide proof by the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service, authorizing your presence in the country and confirming validity of your foreign license. If you cannot show proof of driving experience you will be subject to the GDL Program requirements.

After you get the permit, visit any Driver Testing Center to take a vision test, knowledge test and possibly a road test if required.

You are not required to surrender your foreign license when MVC issues your New Jersey driver license.

X

30 HOURS OF CLASSROOM INSTRUCTION

Haven’t passed the written knowledge test? You do not have to wait to take the test in high school, take it with us and get your permit and driver instruction started sooner! You do not have to wait until the test is administered in high school driver education class. You can take the test with us any time following your 16th birthday! We have included links to the NJMVC knowledge test and individual chapter quizzes from the MVC driver’s manual in the “PRACTICE EXAMS” section of our website.

Upon turning the age of 16, one of the first steps to participating in driving instruction is the student must pass a written knowledge test. Since this requires a licensed driving school instructor to purchase the student learner’s permit prior to taking the written test, we offer this as a one-time service to our students. We can provide transportation to/from the local MVC agency. If the student successfully passes the written test we can then immediately proceed to the first 2-hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. Don’t delay!

Any NJ licensed driver from 16 years old and up may benefit from our training. Although our driving school is located in central New Jersey, we will give the defensive driving course at any location in New Jersey provided there is a group large enough to warrant the travel. For more information, or to set up a course near you, please feel free to call ROAD RULES to take care of you.

This 30 hours of classroom theory is being taught by a N.J. Department of Motor Vehicle Certified Licensed Driving Instructor, but a certified classroom teacher, who obtained his Defensive Driving Certificate in a master’s program, and has had years of in-class instructional time, and is capable to deal with many learning disabilities. This class focuses on traffic laws, defensive driving, and preparation for N.J. Permit Test.

X

ON-LINE BOATING EXAM

Get your New Jersey Boat Safety Certificate in three easy steps! Find a Proctored Exam In Your Area, After completing this online course, you are required to take an in-person proctored exam. This course will prepare you for the exam; proctored exams have a 98% pass rate! Make sure to find a proctored exam in your area before starting the online course

Study & Pass the Online Boating Safety Course

  • Learn with hundreds of narrated animations
  • Test your knowledge with quizzes after each chapter
  • Pay $29.95 when you pass the final quiz to print your Proctored Final Exam Voucher
X

LOST PERMIT

What should I do if I lose my permit?

In the event you lose your permit, WE must apply for a duplicate. We will have to present your official proof of birth and your written score card at the DMV. You will also have to have to fill out the Student learners application card (green card). The fee for a duplicate permit is $25.

X

CDL Driving Lessons

New Jersey CDL License Requirements

All CDL applicants must comply with all medical fitness and vision requirements. The minimum age for a CDL license is 18, but you must be 21 to apply for a hazardous material or passenger CDL endorsements, or to drive any commercial vehicle outside of the state (interstate).

Class A CDL License

If you are interested in tractor trailer driving you will need to have a Class A CDL license. With a Class A CDL license you can also operate Class B vehicles and Class C vehicles, provided you have the proper extra CDL endorsements.

The first step is to begin studying and preparing for your theory tests with our proven method of study. You must pass 3 theory tests: general knowledge, air brakes and combination vehicles. The theory tests are administered at most Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) locations and consist of 50 questions for general knowledge, 25 questions for air brakes, 25 questions for combination vehicles.

After you pass all 3 required theory tests you will then begin to view our instructional videos, and you will also begin your driving lessons. Once you have mastered tractor trailer driving, we will take you to your road tests.

Class B CDL License (Straight Truck, Bus)

If you are interested in straight truck driving or a bus driving you will need to have a Class B CDL license. With a Class B CDL license you can also operate Class C vehicles, provided you have the proper extra CDL endorsements.

The first step is to begin studying and preparing for your theory tests with our proven method of study. You must pass 2 theory tests: general knowledge and air brakes. The theory tests are administered at most MVC locations and consist of 50 questions for general knowledge and 25 questions for air brakes.

After you pass both required theory tests you will then begin to view our instructional videos, and you will also begin your driving lessons. Once you have mastered straight truck driving and/or bus driving, we will take you to your road test.

Bus: If you wish to use your Class B CDL license for bus driving you must also meet the requirements for a passenger CDL endorsement. It is recommended that you pass the requirements for the passenger CDL endorsement when you are going for your Class B CDL license because the difference in cost is minimal and you will be able to drive a full-sized bus in addition to a straight truck.

Class C CDL License (Limo, Van, Small Bus)

If you wish to drive any vehicle designed to carry 8 to 15 passengers you need a Class C CDL license. All you need to do is begin studying and preparing for your theory tests with our proven method of study. You must pass 2 theory tests: general knowledge and passenger. The theory tests are administered at most MVC locations and consist of 50 questions for general knowledge and 25 questions for passenger. You must also meet the additional requirements for the passenger CDL endorsement. No driving lessons or road tests are required to obtain a Class C CDL license.

CDL Endorsements

  • Double & Triple Trailers: Needed for tractor trailer drivers pulling two or three trailers. A Class A CDL license is required to operate this type of vehicle.
  • Passengers: Needed for operators of all motor vehicles designed to transport 8 or more passengers (including the driver). Applicants for this CDL endorsement must have at least 3 years of driving experience, be at least 21 years of age, pass a physical examination and be fingerprinted.
  • Tank Vehicles: Needed for operators of CDL vehicles that transport liquids or gas in bulk.
  • Hazardous Materials: Needed for operators of CDL vehicles transporting hazardous materials. Must be trained and retested every two years. Applicants for this CDL endorsement must be at least 21 years of age.

My name is Yvette, and I live in Elizabeth. I have a daughter whom is deaf, and recently obtained her drivers permit. I have never seen her so happy. She was excited because she has something regular kids her age have, a permit. That happiness was about to change. It was time to find a driving instructor for her. I searched high and low and called every driving school in the Union, Essex, Middlesex, and Bergen County area. All of the schools refused to teach her how to drive because she was deaf. I was so upset and hurt, because they were not even willing to give her a chance. I didn't have the heart to tell my daughter so I kept lying telling her, I was waiting for call backs. Well as luck would have it one day at DMV someone I know there introduced me to a driving instructor. We started talking and I explained my situation. Without hesitation he was willing to teach my daughter how to drive. Later that week I arranged to have him come and meet my daughter. As luck would have it she took to him well that he took her driving. When she came home and he left she was like a kid in a candy store. I have never seen her fingers move so fast in sign language to tell me how it went. I could tell I found the right person and the right driving school. My daughter bugs me every day to call or email him so she can drive. She enjoys her time with him. She says he is very calm and relaxed and he makes driving fun. She said he doesn't treat like a Deaf person; he treats her like a person. That right there was the highlight that made me cry....The driving school is ROAD RULES DRIVING SCHOOLand the instructors name is MIKE..

If you or anyone you know with a (any) disability, before you drive yourself crazy searching for a driving school or instructor call him. You will not regret it. I promise you. Between him and his staff you cannot find any better. They will make you feel like family. So remember if you want to learn call ROAD RULES ask for MIKE. If you want to waste your time and money than call someone else.

Mike was extremely professional and courteous during my daughter's driving lesson. For someone who was nervous driving, he made her feel very relaxed and confident. I find now that she is a very confident driver and knows the rules of the road extremely well. I am so thankful that my daughter had such a great instructor! Thanks to Mike I am a little bit more relaxed with the idea of her driving!

I am happy to recommend Mike and Road Rules Driving School. Not only did Mike quickly form a trusting relationship with my daughter and tailor his instruction exactly to her needs, but he went above and beyond driving instruction. He patiently answered all my questions via phone and email, and he even went to the DMV for us to reschedule my daughters road test appointment! He made us both feel confident, welcoming my participation in the process, and his prices are competitive. I will definitely be calling Mike again when my younger daughters are ready to learn to drive.